My Top 5 Character Designs in Fighting Games

MVW Encyclopedia
6 min readMay 2, 2024

Design does matter a lot more than we tend to think

Credit: Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment

If I were a video game designer and I could choose where to display my talents, I’d almost always choose a big-budget fighting game. Quite simply, there is no better venue for an artist to create the most extravagant and ludicrous designs you can possibly think of than a AAA fighting game. Provided you aren’t been censored by governments or Sweet Baby Inc’s of course.

A selection of a diverse and interesting characters is responsible for, at the very least, half of a fighting game’s success. Let me put it like this. A fighting game without great characters is like a vegan KFC. Utterly and painfully pointless. For that reason, I wanted to highlight just a couple of my favorite character designs over the years as a gamer. As always, I would love to hear what your personal picks in the comments. Just make sure they come from a fighting game so we can keep the spirit of the trope alive.

Without further ado and in no particular order, let’s do this!

Cammy — Street Fighter 6

Credit: Capcom

--

--

MVW Encyclopedia

Movies. Video Games. Watches. If you are passionate about any of these, I guarantee I’ll piss you off at least once.